

South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation

South Carolina Board of

Long Term Health Care Administrators

110 Centerview Dr. • Columbia • SC • 29210 P.O. Box 11329 • Columbia • SC 29211-1329 Phone: 803-896-4544 • Contact.LTHCA@llr.sc.gov • Fax: 803-896-4719 llr.sc.gov/lthc

## NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATOR (NHA) REQUIREMENT FOR LICENSURE AND APPLICATION PROCESS OVERVIEW

#### Licensure Requirements

A person is qualified to receive a certificate of licensure if the following requirements are met:

- Must be 21 years of age
- Submission of a completed application and payment of licensure fee(s).
- Must meet one of the following combinations of education and practical experience in nursing home administration\*:
  - Baccalaureate or higher degree in health care administration or health care degree from an accredited college/university and one year of practical experience in nursing home administration or related health care administration\*\*; or
  - Baccalaureate degree other than in health care administration from an accredited college/university and two years of practical experience in nursing home administration or related health care administration\*\*; or
  - Health related associate degree from an accredited college/university and three years of practical experience in nursing home administration or related health care administration\*\*.
- Pass the National Association of Boards of Long Term Health Care Administrators (NAB) CORE Exam and Line of Service Exam: Nursing Home Administrators
- Pass the NHA State Exam
- Submission of a Board specified Criminal Background Check and current Credit Report

\*<u>Practical experience in nursing home administration</u>: minimum fulltime employment (36 hours per week) under the on-site supervision by a licensed NHA in a state licensed nursing home. Applicants must be responsible and accountable, of at least a period of six months, in at least two of the following areas:

- 1. Business and fiscal management
- 2. Direct patient care: nursing, physical, occupational or speech therapy, chaplaincy, social work (includes admissions and marketing), or activities
- 3. Supporting services: dietary, maintenance, engineering, laundry, environmental services, or pharmacy

\*\*<u>Related health care administration</u>: administration of a facility that provides direct nursing care on a twentyfour hour basis to persons who require health services because of illness, age, or chronic disability. Administration of a community residential care facility or independent living community is not accepted.

### **Application Process**

# Your application is good for one (1) year from the date of receipt. If all required information is not received within this one (1) year period; you must begin the application process from the beginning. This includes, but is not limited to, the application fee, transcripts, license verifications, etc.

- 1. Application In addition to the completed application, the following must also be sent:
  - a. Check or money order only, in the amount of \$200 made payable to Long Term Health Care Administrators Board (Fees are non-refundable). A returned check fee of up to \$30, or an amount specified by law, may be assessed on all returned funds. NO CASH IS ACCEPTED
  - b. Copy of your valid Driver's License, State Issued ID, or Passport
  - c. Copy of your Social Security Card
  - d. Three (3) Character Reference Forms
  - e. Employment Reference Forms for each employer

- f. Current Credit Report
- g. Provisional License Request Letter, if applicable\*\*\*
- h. Legal documentation for name change (marriage certificate, divorce decree, etc.)
- i. Notarized Verification of Lawful Presence
- 2. Documents to be sent directly to the Board from issuing agency/institution
  - a. <u>Education Verification</u>: Contact your college/university to request an official copy of your transcript be sent directly to the Board office. Transcripts may be accepted via email or mail. Unsealed transcripts submitted with applications will not be accepted.
  - b. <u>License Verification</u>: Contact the state board(s) where you are currently or have been previously licensed with and have the verification mailed directly to the Board office. We will accept a state board issued form.
  - c. <u>Exam Scores</u>: If you have passed the National Association of Boards of Long Term Health Care Administrators (NAB) CORE Exam and Line of Service Exam: Nursing Home Administrators, you will need to contact NAB and request your scores be released to the Board.
- 3. <u>Criminal Background Check</u>: All applicants must undergo a state fingerprint review. Upon receipt of application, you will be issued instructions regarding the fingerprint process.
- 4. <u>Examinations</u>: All applicants are required to pass the NAB CORE, NAB NHA and NHA SC exams. Once your application has been approved, you will be emailed instructions on how to register for the exam and where to find study material. For the NAB CORE and NAB NHA exams, a passing scaled score of 113 is required and for the NHA SC exam, a passing scaled score of 38 is required. Applicants who fail to pass any portion of the exam may apply to re-take the examination once. An applicant who has failed the examination twice must petition the Board if he desires to pursue licensure. The Board will be automatically notified of your scores and will send confirmation and further instructions.
- 5. <u>Initial Licensure Fee</u>: After submission of a completed application and passage of all required examinations, an initial licensure fee is required before permanent licensure can be issued. Applicant will be sent an invoice that can be paid via the online payment system or mailed into the Board.

#### **\*\*\*Provisional Licensure**

In the event an unexpected vacancy caused by the death or departure of an administrator, or similar event, the Board may issue a provisional license to an applicant meeting the pre-examination licensure requirements. In addition to meeting initial licensure requirements, applicants must submit a letter from the owner of the facility requesting the applicant be appointed the administrator and including:

- 1. The need for a provisional license;
- 2. The name of the appointed administrator;
- 3. The date of appointment and;
- 4. A specific request that the board issue a provisional license to the named administrator.

Upon receipt of completed application and payment of application and provisional license fee, a provisional license will be issued. Provisional licenses expire 90 days from issue or upon the issue of an initial license, whichever occurs first.

If the provisional administrator does not pass both the national and South Carolina state examinations, the facility must obtain the services of a consultant administrator for a minimum of sixteen (16) hours per month until the applicant passes the exam(s). The consultant administrator must have a minimum of two years of experience operating a facility. If the applicant fails the examination(s) the second time, the provisional license will be terminated thirty days after the applicant is notified of the examination score(s). If any applicant fails to present themselves for the examination(s), the provisional license will terminate at the close of business on the day of the examination(s).